Thirteen Corporations Subject of Asbestos Lawsuit

In a lawsuit filed with the Madison County, Illinois, Circuit Court on September 29, 2008, Bruno Dobler claimed that his diagnosis of mesothelioma on October 31, 2007, was caused by wrongdoing from 13 of his former employers. He is seeking damages, compensation, and punitive damages from the corporations for his pain, suffering, and anguish. Dobler claims that during his career from 1954 until 2000, he was exposed to asbestos , which led to his mesothelioma. In the lawsuit, he argues that the defendants should have foreseen and prevented his exposure. The only known cause of mesothelioma is exposure to asbestos through inhaling its dust, fibers, or particles, and Dobler holds that he inhaled asbestos during his work as an electrician.

As a result of his mesothelioma diagnosis, Dobler has suffered disability and disfigurement, and he is now responsible for paying thousands of dollars in medical and health care bills. Mesothelioma has led to Dobler’s current and continued pain and anguish. He also can no longer work as he had previously. All of these factors have cost Dobler dearly, and he is hoping to recover some of those losses through his two-count lawsuit against the 13 corporations. Mesothelioma is a cancer of the lining of the lungs caused by asbestos. It often does not develop until ten to twenty years after asbestos exposure. Such a delay would explain why Bruno Dobler was not diagnosed with the cancer until seven years after he had last worked as an electrician. Due to the deadly nature of mesothelioma, patients diagnosed often have a greatly shortened lift span. Many patients with mesothelioma do not live more than two years after their diagnosis. Dobler has not made public his prognosis. A total of $50,000 plus an additional $50,000 in compensation is sought by the suit. Dobler also is seeking punitive damages to teach these corporations a lesson and to prevent a similar scenario from being repeated in the future. The case is pending in Madison County Circuit Court.