Honorees for Asbestos Awareness Conference Named

Four people have been chosen to be recognized by the Asbestos Disease Awareness Day Conference for their roles in changing policies and supporting victims. These honorees will receive their awards during a ceremony at the fifth annual Asbestos Disease Awareness Day Conference held in California from March 27-29, 2009.
Those honored include the following: U.S. Senator from California Barbara Boxer for her role in bringing about stricter asbestos legislation. Her diligent work in this area as well as her support of other environmental issues has earned her the Tribute of Hope Award. Margaret Seminario of the AFL/CIO has been granted the Tribute of Unity Award for her work to educate and support victims of asbestos worldwide. Seminario consulted with the U.S. House of Representatives on July 31, 2008, and asked for the government to act to help support “thousands of brave responders, recovery and clean-up workers and residents who are now sick as a result of exposures to toxins.”

The September 11, 2001 terror attacks on the United States was just one of the events of many years of study devoted to asbestos and the effects of exposure to asbestos for Dr. Stephen Levin, the Head of the Center for Occupational and Environmental Medicine at Mount Sinai Hospital. He has earned the Dr. Irving Selikoff Lifetime Achievement Award, named for the co-discoverer of the tuberculosis cure. Dr. Selikoff also pushed for the first regulations for asbestos use set by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA). The dire problem of asbestos use in India has prompted two citizens, Pralhad Malvadkar and Raghunath Manwar, of that country to support the victims of asbestos exposure. Their honor at the Conference is the Tribute of Inspiration Award. Through their continued efforts, these honorees have brought more awareness to the problem of asbestos exposure and more support for victims.